RSS

Marcon 49 Wrap Up

13 May

The con has come and gone, leaving in its wake an empty wallet and full soul.  Let’s talk about the ups and downs of this year’s con from my humble perspective.

I’m going to start with registration – it seemed a little better this year.  The database is still clunky, and having to put someone in and then search them seems weird, but I got my badge quickly and easily.  The info bags were again kind of hidden, but I realized I needed to grab one to get the program, so that wasn’t a problem.

The late start on Friday was, in some ways, a blessing and a curse.  It felt like less was going on, but at the same time, didn’t feel hurried or rushed that first day.  Even with the late start, some dealers were still not set up in the dealer’s room, so I guess the extra time was good for everyone.

I attended part of the Rocky Horror presentation Friday.  Um, no offense to the cast but I’m guessing this wasn’t the usual Studio 35 crew, or if it is, I’m guessing there’s been some big cast shakeups recently.  It happens, I get it, but while some of the folks were ok, there were some pretty big holes.  Maybe I’m a Rocky snob…having been a cast member though, I think I can be critical.  Also, for the love of all that’s unholy and loathsome, please get the damned call back right for the Time Warp!  It’s “With your hands on your hips…or somebody elses!“, not “Oh Shit!”.  That doesn’t even make any sense.  I mean it really, really doesn’t.  The classic line is a classic for a reason.

I also went to the Shibari rope tying demo.  Not bad for absolute beginners, but if you’re even a little into kink it wasn’t much help.  It didn’t help that one of the lovely ladies demonstrating the ties was more interested in bopping to the music from the dance party next door.  Still, good representation on safety and what ropes are best to use.  Also dying nylon rope makes it very soft…wow!

Saturday was a bit of a blur.  I was there with two friends.  We spent a lot of time looking around the dealers room and the art room.  The art room was a little sparse this year, but what was there was REALLY good.  My friend made three bids and won all three.  She also convinced me to buy some very bad ass leather bracers, so it was very much worth it.  We called it an early day, actually, mostly because my friend was exhausted.  I considered going back alone that night for the Buffy sing along.  I really wish I had, but I was also worn out from all the walking.

Sunday was just me – I picked up my friend’s art purchases and stopped in at a few places.  The con was winding down, but it still felt…alive.

I’m looking back now and wondering if it truly was a good year for the con.  It was a great year for me, but…maybe attendance was down?  I don’t know.  Next year is Marcon 50…perhaps they need to blitz folks early next year to get people there.  Having a real guest or two wouldn’t hurt.  Not that the zombies from the Walking Dead wasn’t cool, it was, but there has to be a way to get at least some named folks there.  I mean, Packrat comics got Abe from Hellboy for Free Comic Book day…can’t Marcon do at least that?

I had a wonderful time, and I hope so did the rest of the people who attended.  Let’s make next year even better.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 13, 2014 in Conventions, Opinions, Personal

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Marcon 49 Wrap Up

  1. Chris

    May 16, 2014 at 12:57 pm

    I haven’t seen any numbers, but I’m sure that attendance was down (even more so than the Easter Marcon last year). I agree that the guests need to be a big focus going forward. I’ve been attending Marcon since 1980 and this was the first time I’d felt bored for stretches. The elevators never had a problem (a bad sign), and the room parties (or, should I say “party”) were a bust. As always, it was great to see my Marcon friends, but we really need to find a way to bring bodies through the door (and media guests are probably the way to go, for better or worse).

     
    • Andrew Black

      May 19, 2014 at 9:37 pm

      It’s what brings people in. Mid-Ohio-Con was no big deal until Wizards snapped it up and started putting Patrick Stewart and similar folks there. And it draws people in. Too many panels this year didn’t really have any participants, and there were still scheduling snafus. The whole dance competition going on in front of the dealers room didn’t help either.

      There have to be some geek talents they could pull in for the 50th. People from cancelled shows or voice work people, someone. Those names bring people to the con. Without them, well…will the con make it past 50?

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

