Father’s Day – WHERE’S MY CAKE?!

It’s Father’s Day, that once a year holiday that celebrates being a dad.  Actually, it might as well be “mens day,” much as Mother’s Day is “womens day.”  However, I am an actual father and a proud one at that.  My daughters are suitably weird and free thinking, and I believe they will go on to have very interesting lives.  And what could a father wish for more?

My wife had hand surgery two days ago, so this Father’s Day has been more about me having quiet time.  I can’t argue that!  However, I will be spending the afternoon playing Left 4 Dead 2 with my kids, which should be a lot of fun.

I grew up without my dad around, so I never really knew what being a father entailed.  I jumped in with two feet, marrying a woman with two kids already, and I was thrust into becoming a father.  I’ve made a lot of mistakes, some so bad that I wish I could erase them from my mind.  But always I have been there for my kids, and I always will be.  I love them and my wife very much, and all the lifting, cleaning, mowing, stress and strain is worth it to have a family that loves me.

So to all the fathers out there, or future fathers, enjoy your day.  You’ve earned it.

I got my cake!
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

