Trapped Between the Scylla and Charybdis

Welcome to 2011!  The title of this post comes from Homer’s the Odyssey, or alternatively from the Police’s Wrapped Around Your Finger, and I think it aptly describes my current condition.  I am currently “trapped” in that I’m still looking for a new place to live.  Hopefully that situation will be dealt with by the end of the month.

I am also “trapped” by writing.  I’m not suffering from writer’s block – just the opposite; I have too many stories stuck in my head!  I’m currently in the middle of a half dozen stories – one is set in my fantasy setting of Xalishan involving an assassin hired to murder a wizard, another is a hardboiled crime drama about a murdered anthropologist, a third is about two teens in a haunted house… the list just goes on.  All of the stories are fascinating to me, but it’s hard to keep focus on just one.  I’ll be writing and suddenly a sentence or two for one of the other stories will pop into my head.  It’s very distressing.

In any case, this year will be a good one.  It’s a new beginning for me.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

