2010 in Review

Perhaps a bit cliché, but 2010 was a big year for me.  So what were my accomplishments for the last year of the “naughties”?

First, I started this blog.  On May 10th, 2010, I offered up my first post, Welcome, (and yes I know how unoriginal that is) and gave life to this rambling monster.  My first REAL post, however, was on May 21st, entitled My First Accepted Story!, which was the announcement that the story My Own Reflection had been accepted by Short-Story.Me.  And yes, it was my first ever published story, which brings me to my second accomplishment…

I really started writing just this past year.  I’ve written stories for years.  My mother claims that I was always writing, even from the time I was very little, but I never had the courage to try to sell my stories until this year, and I’ve met with more than a fair amount of success.  In the past seven months, I have had four stories published online, one story published in a print anthology, and one of my stories reprinted in a collected anthology of the year’s best stories.  That’s pretty good for a first time writer just setting out.  I was expecting to spend my first year or so getting nothing but rejection letters.

Finally, 2010 brought to a close a very painful and personal time in my life, and turned something that was very bad into something that I hope will be very good.  As I look at 2011 stretching off before me, I can say with all honesty that this will be a good year.  Judging from how far I have come in just seven months as a writer, I think the best is yet to come.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

