How to be a writer…

Just a few of the words of John D. McDonald from his wonderful introduction to Stephen King’s Night Shift.

“If you want to write, you write.”

Simple, elegant, and perfectly reflective of how to be a writer.  If you want to write, you write.  If you want to sing, you sing.  If you want to be an accountant, you account.  You get the idea.  Repetition, in other words.  Diligence, if you wish.

Even if it’s only scraps, even if it’s silly blog posts.  If you want to write, you write.

And I want to write.

So here I am, writing, trying to fill a post because I feel I should.  No, that’s not correct. I’m writing because I want to write.  I want to write, so I’m writing.  That’s just how it is.

It’s funny how stupidly simple that is, and yet how hard.  When you have to do what it is you want to do, the world is in proper balance.  I’ve been out of balance for a time, but I’m coming back to true.  I will write because I want to write, because I need to write.  That’s how it’s done, that is the only way it’s done.

If you want to be a writer, you write.  And so I write.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

