Car nostalgia

My freshman year of college I met a couple who had a profound effect on my life.  Some of it was good, a lot of it was bad, but it helped shape me into who I am today.

This couple had a car, a 1974 Chevrolet Monte Carlo, with a 305 Cleveland engine.  It could go, and I mean GO.  It was made of “go fast”.  But it wasn’t just fast – it seemed to float over the road like a giant metal land yacht compared to the early 90’s cars.  They had a great stereo system installed, and we would cruise the streets blasting music.

I miss that car, and to a lesser extent, those days.  I don’t know what made me think about it today, but I did.  Here’s a picture of a similar Monte Carlo, though the one I remember so well had red pin striping on the sides.

It looks like the goddamned Batmobile compared to cars today.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

