RSS

NPR’s best sci-fi/fantasy novels of all time

21 Jun

NPR is currently running a poll to create a list of the 100 best sci-fi/fantasy novels of all time.  The rules are on the page, but the one that trips me up some is no horror – that will be another list for a later time.  Also, being limited to five books/series is difficult as well.

However, I have managed to reduce the field, and I present here my five best in no particular order:

  1. The Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien
  2. Dune – Frank Herbert
  3. Discworld – Terry Pratchett
  4. The Book of Swords – Fred Saberhagen
  5. The Shannara Series – Terry Brooks

There are so many others I’d like to include.  I’ve left the Dresden Files off because that better fits horror in my opinion.  No Stephen King here either.  But I could easily include Asimov, Heinlen, Norton and tons of others to this list.  My choices, however, are quite personal.  Each of these books or series of books has been important to me at various times in my life.

I welcome anyone reading this to post their lists!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 21, 2011 in External News

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
