Slenderman and the Rake

It may seem odd, but my Slenderman posts are the most popular on this blog.  I think somehow I got on a list somewhere of Slenderman links.  But I will confess that I do have a love for old Slendy, mostly because, as I’ve mentioned, I was lurking the Something Awful forums when he was created.

Now a new piece of the Slenderman mythos has arisen.  He is called The Rake, and oddly enough, he’s been featured on my blog before!

The Rake appears to be a white skinned, naked humanoid, though his limbs are often out of proportion with his thin torso, and his fingers often seem to end in long claws.  The creature is definitely male according to eye witness accounts.  He is usually seen in forest settings, or on dark roads late at night.  The Rake, unlike the Slenderman who has been sighted all over the world, appears to be located only in upstate New York.   The Rake doesn’t seem to cause any interference with electronic equipment, and most of the blurring of images comes from the photographers being frightened or other technical issues unrelated to the creature.

Occasionally the creature will enter a home or hotel room and appear in the darkest hours of the night, usually curled into a fetal ball until the person in bed notices him.  He will then move closer, often hovering his strange, inhuman face over the person for several minutes until at last he moves on.  He might touch the person before leaving, but he seems to be studying them, not attempting to harm them.  This is not to say the Rake is necessarily peaceful; he has been known to attack and even kill people, though for what purpose is mostly unknown.

Those he “marks” by touching or watching at night seem to be able to hear his true voice, as others only hear screeching or moaning sounds.  Often the Rake will warn people to leave his territory, or will tell them of events yet to come.  Here are some examples:

From an unknown mariner’s log dated 1691:
“He came to me in my sleep. From the foot of my bed I felt a sensation. He took everything. We must return to England. We shall not return here again at the request of the Rake.” 

A journal entry in Spanish, dated 1880:
“I have experience the greatest terror. I have experienced the greatest terror. I have experienced the greatest terror. I see his eyes when I close mine. They are hollow. Black. They saw me and pierced me. His wet hand. I will not sleep. His voice (unintelligible text).” 

How the Rake is connected to the Slenderman is unknown, but they do appear to form two pieces of an evolving mythos.  It’s possible that the Rake is not malevolent, like the Slenderman appears to be, but rather only wishes to be left alone.  Perhaps the Rake is an earlier, larval version of Slenderman, still in existence because Slenderman seems to exist outside of time, as does the Rake.

Some links about the Rake:
Tumblr Blog – central repository for the Rake
The Rake’s EverymanHYBRID Wiki entry
The Original Creepypasta 

4 thoughts on “Slenderman and the Rake

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

