True Detective and the King in Yellow – dear god, it’s a mythos show!!!

I will freely admit that I have not watched True Detective, the newest sensation burning up the airwaves. It’s on HBO, which I don’t have, and I haven’t seen it on Vudu yet to buy the first season.  However, what I’m reading…holy shit…it’s a mythos story!!!

The show is about a murder, or lots of murders, and has lots of great stars and acting and stuff like that.  I really don’t know.  What I do know is that a central bit of the plot revolves around The King in Yellow by Robert W. Chambers, which is very much considered a part of the Cthulhu Mythos.  Dim Carcosa, Hastur, the Lake Hali, the king himself, it’s all very connected to Lovecraft, who was inspired by Chambers.

IO9 has a great write up on this, which I won’t try to duplicate.  It’s just amazing to me, all these people getting into this show, and discovering that the words they are hearing, the spooky shit the characters are referring to, all exists, and existed almost a hundred years ago…

For those who would like to read The King in Yellow, it’s public domain.  Here’s a link via Project Gutenberg.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

